AU PAIR BUDDY OF THE MONTH | PATI & LOTTIE

written by Au Pair in America April 22, 2019

PATI | NOMINATOR | CHILE

Hi, my name is Pati. I’m 20 years old from Chile. πŸ‡¨πŸ‡±

I live in Westport, Connecticut. I met Lottie from England in February 2019, and since that day, we are best friends! We live very close to each other, so we are always going out together or just relaxing at each other’s houses.

When I first met her, I told her to correct any English mistakes that I made. Only she said she wouldn’t, cause she finds it cute. What a friend, right? (haha)

We both have 2 host girls who are roughly the same age, so we have lots of play dates! Our little ones enjoy going to the library, playing and dancing, while our older ones love talking about different things they did at school. Cute!

I’m so happy to have Lottie as one of my best friends.


She’s always there to listen, go for a coffee or watch a cheesy movie after a long day.


She’s going to visit her family back in England for Easter, and I’ll miss her so much! I hope to travel a lot with her and keep building this beautiful and multicultural friendship. We’ll go to Niagara Falls this summer and hopefully to many other places!

Love you bestie!

LOTTIE | NOMINEE | UK

Hey! 😊

My name is Lottie and I am 27 years old from England.

I moved to Westport, CT, just two months ago and never in my wildest imagination would I have thought I would have so many good friendships already. And that, most obviously, includes my amazing friendship with Pati.

We actually met through a mutual friend; the funny thing is that I was worried about third-wheeling when we all went for coffee for the first time. But I’m so thankful I put my big girl pants on and went, because I know I truly have made a friend for life!!

I agree, it’s pretty cool that our host children are of similar ages too. What’s even more cool is that they’re building friendships just like mine and Pati’s! It really is just the sweetest thing seeing them together playing, dancing and more often than not having the youngest two singing and motioning the wheels on the bus, impressively lead by me and Pati (we’ve become experts!)

She is one of the sweetest people I know, so caring and thoughtful and is always there for me when I need her, through the good times and the bad. In the short amount of time we’ve been friends, we’ve been through so much together and some of my best days here have been with her. For example, going into NYC for the St Patricks Day Parade πŸ€

And already we have so much planned for our furture months together! Like the other weekend, we went for an Alice in Wonderland themed afternoon tea! 🐰


Our friendship is just the perfect example that nationality and age are completely redundant when it comes to making friends

I can’t wait to spend the next 20 months with her!
Te Amo Pati!

You may also like